OA Awards

Founders Award

The Founder’s Award was created to honor and recognize those Arrowmen who have given outstanding service to the lodge. The award is reserved for those Arrowmen who memorialize in their everyday life the spirit of achievement as described by founder E. Urner Goodman. The award is a handsome bronze medallion bearing the likenesses of E. Urner Goodman and co-founder Carroll A. Edson.

The Founder’s Award is the only award in Nanuk Lodge intentionally selected by previous recipients. The selection committee consists of all currently registered recipients from both the previous five years and lodge key three. (Asterisks* notes an Adult Awardee)

Founder’s Award Recipients

Year Name
2022 Owen Nordstrom
  Brian Partridge*
2021 Aiden Partridge*
  Gregory Hobbs
2020 Joe Pavia-Jones
  Rebecca Giacalone*
2019 None
2018 Ian Sands
  Patrick Reber*
2017 Steven Meyer
  Keith Mobley*
2016 Luke Dossett
  Brice Alexander*
2015 James Sewell
  Phillip Martin
2014 Andrew Arsenault
  Gordon Ward*
2012 Tyler Berger
2011 Jacob Hanchett
  Dennis Stauffer*
2010 Andre Giacalone
2009 Adam Ward
  Michael Ralston*
2008 Samuel Giacalone
  Richard V. Howe Sr.*
2005 Konrad Pyle
  Isabel “Smokey” Groff*
2003 Justin Kaucic
  Rindi Patterson*
2001 Joseph Seidel*
2000 Brad Lowry
  Edmund Penisten*
1996 Kelly King
  Raymond Wall*

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was created in 1940 to honor those who rendered service to the Order beyond the lodge level. The award is presented to those Arrowmen who have rendered distinguished and outstanding service to the Order on a sectional, regional, or national basis. The award is presented during NOAC.

The award is a sterling silver arrowhead, bearing an arrow pointing upward and to the wearer’s right, suspended from a white neck-ribbon upon which are embroidered red arrows. A white square knot embroidered upon red cloth is also available. Presentation of the award is limited; nominations are open to both youth and adult.

The following members of Nanuk Lodge have been recognized with this award:

Year Name
2015 Samuel M. Giacalone

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Legacy of Servant Leadership Lifetime Achievement Award was created by the National Order of the Arrow Committee in 2002 to recognize the Order’s second and third generation “Founders” – Scouters who have built an enduring legacy to Scouting and the Order of the Arrow through a lifetime of cheerful service to others.

The award is intended to recognize only those extraordinary Arrowmen who have deeply influenced and significantly contributed to the vision, direction, and growth of the Order of the Arrow, faithfully demonstrated a lifetime of servant leadership, and, through their daily example, illuminated and reinforced the significance of the values found in the Scout Oath and Scout Law.

E. Urner Goodman Camping Award

The E. Urner Goodman Camping Award was established in 1969 as a tribute and testimonial to the Order’s founder, E. Urner Goodman. Its purpose is to encourage and challenge Order of the Arrow members and lodges to increase their effectiveness in promoting and increasing Scout camping in each council. Awards are presented to two outstanding lodges in each region annually. For a lodge to be eligible for consideration, the E. Urner Goodman Camping Award petition should be completed and forwarded with the lodge’s charter renewal application.

Nanuk Lodge received this honor in 1996.

OA National Service Award

The National Service Award was established in 1999 to recognize lodges in each region that have performed outstanding service, both in a qualitative and a quantitative sense, to their council. The National Service Award Petition is submitted along with the lodge recharter application. To be considered for the National Service Award, a lodge must be certified as a National Quality Lodge the year in which the National Service Award Petition is submitted. Two lodges per region will be granted the National Service Award each year.

The National Service Award petition requires lodges to submit information on current lodge membership (the size of a lodge is a factor when considering the magnitude of the service it has provided), a detailed description of the largest and most meaningful service project the lodge has completed for its council, and a record of all service performed by the lodge for the council since the last recharter process. Service for this award is defined as any project that has directly benefited the Scouting program in the council.

The award was developed by past National Vice Chief Ryan Miske.  The National Service Award is always presented the year following the service being recognized. 

%d bloggers like this: