Nominations for Recognition

Have you nominated Scouters for recognition yet?

Recognition nominations are due to the council office no later than December 9, 2022. 

submit forms to Kaya Puturo

We are looking for nominations for the following!

District Award of Merit
Silver Beaver
Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award
Lifesaving and Meritorious Action Award
James E. West Fellowship
Community Organization Award
Click on each knot to download the nomnatition form

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils. The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level. The award is made available annually on the basis of 1 for every 25 traditional units or a fraction thereof. The district need not present all the awards to which it is entitled each year. It is not appropriate to nominate a Scouter who has already received this award. A professional Scouter or another council employee may not receive this award based on employment service. However, a professional Scouter or employee who also serves as a volunteer Scouter may be eligible, based on volunteer service.

The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Upon nomination by their local Scout council and with the approval of the National Court of Honor, recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.[1] The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service. It is given to those who do not seek it.

Recognizes outstanding service by an adult individual or by an organization for demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for youth from rural or low-income urban backgrounds.

To recognize registered youth and adults who have performed an attempt to save a life or to recognize notable acts of service that need not involve attempts of rescue or risk to self, but put into practice Scouting skills and/or ideals.

Like many community organizations, Scouting requires financial support today and into the future. This award is presented to recognize those who have given at a particular level to local council endowment funds. To learn more about this and other awards associated with financial gifts to Scouting, contact your local council service center.

A Community Organization Award (COA) square knot is available for registered volunteers to wear on their Scout uniform. This square knot denotes that a Scout volunteer has been recognized by one of these approved national chartered organization partners for Scout service within that organization. Those organizations are as follows:

Know your Knots

There are three types of awards, commonly referred to as knots, adults can wear on their Scouting uniform. Awards earned as a youth awards earned as an adult, and recognition presented to adults for service to Scouting.

Awards Earned as a Youth

Scouters who earned their Arrow of Light, Eagle Scout Rank, Venturing Awards, and Religious Emblem as a youth, can wear the knot that represents these awards on their uniform as an adult. 

These knots represent the very highest level of achievement as a youth in Scouting. 

Awards Earned as a Adult

There are many awards that can be earned as an adult. Each of these awards helps the movement progress and to deliver quality programs to Scouts.

Once the requirements for the recognition have been completed turn in the application/tracking form to the Scout Office. The Scout Office will prepare a certificate and the knot to be presented at Roundtable. There is no cost for the certification and knot. These are a “Thank You” from the Great Alaska Council to our amazing volunteers!

Recognition above and beyond the council


The Silver Antelope Award is a region-level distinguished service award for the Boy Scouts of America.

The Silver Buffalo Award is the national-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. It is presented for noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth on a national basis as a part of or independent of Scouting

%d bloggers like this: